What Matters Most

I am aware that in modern times not everyone celebrates Christmas; however, considering that this blog is about teenage life, and that I am a teenager, I decided to make this post about what Christmas means to me. The video above perfectly depicts my reason for celebrating Christmas; the birth of my Savior, Jesus Christ.

IMG_4891 10857845_10152841918556893_5044941693601547082_nIMG_5865

The holiday season is one of my favorite times of the year because it allows me to spend hours with those I love, while listening to beautiful music, under our carefully decorated tree.  Each year, our tree has piles of large and small gifts gently wrapped under neath it.  In years past, I have spent hours simply trying to figure out what could be inside of each gift bag or box.  However, this year I have focused more on the meaning behind each of the gifts.  I try to imagine all of the hard, long hours of work put in so that the perfect necklace could be purchased.  I try to picture the countless days spent tracing patterns, cutting out wood, and sanding so that the most elegant nativity can be crafted.  I try to comprehend the tremendous sacrifice made so that Mom can enjoy a present every morning until December.  To me, these ideals mean more to me than any piece of jewelry, clothing, or technology.  I have made it a goal this season to be a little more patient, a little more understanding, and a little more loving.  As I have done this, I have noticed that this holiday season means more to me, than any other holiday season has meant before.  Rather than focusing on the “stuff” I have learned to focus on the sacrifice, the people, and the ultimate gift.

Leave a comment